Home > News > 2012 Helpmann Awards Nominees announced in Brisbane

2012 Helpmann Awards Nominees announced in Brisbane

Helpmann Awards 2012 - Nominations

Helpmann Awards 2012 – Nominations

The 2012 Helpmann Awards Nomination Announcement Event was held for the first time in Brisbane last night in the foyer of the Lyric Theatre, QPAC. This was the first time all 3 major eastern capital cities held the nomination event simultaneously.

Hosted by local character actor Bille Brown, the event was a classy celebration honoring 2012’s outstanding performers and theatre contributors.

The award announcement night was full of Brisbane’s industry elite performers and contributors including Harvest Rain Artistic Director/CEO Tim O’Connell and members of the current Jersey Boys Cast.

Reading the names were Lisa Gasteen AO, Musical Theatre Star Glaston Toft, Award Winning Choreographer Natalie Weir and La Boite Theatre Company’s Artistic Director David Berthold.

Bille Brown held such colourful focus with his hilarious costume, or shall I say ‘set’ changes (care of 2 different scarves) and was pleasantly surprised as he found out he had been nominated for Best Actor in a play.

This event proved to be a huge step for Brisbane and Queensland as being recognised for our important contribution to the arts sector in Australia.

The Helpmann Awards will be broadcast exclusively on Australia’s arts and entertainment channel STUDIO-channel 132 on Foxtel, airing 25 September at 8.30pm.

Rebecca has written 36 articles on AussieTheatre
Read more articles by
Website: Bex Grennan