Lin-Manuel Miranda announces pre-orders for Hamilton Mixtape album

Earlier this week Hamilton creator Lin-Manuel Miranda announced on Twitter that a new incarnation of the show’s music, the Hamilton Mixtape is now available for preorder.

The album features remixes of the songs from the show and three previously unreleased numbers that were subsequently cut before the show opened.

Appearing on the album are some of today’s best-selling musicians including Sia, Usher, Kelly Clarkson, The Roots, Alicia Keys, Nas, Wiz Khalifa, Chance The Rapper, John Legend, Regina Spektor, Ashanti, Ja Rule, Miguel, Queen Latifah, Common, Ben Folds, Andra Day, Jill Scott, Jimmy Fallon and more, demonstrating the musical’s wide reaching popularity in mainstream culture.

The Original Cast Recording of Hamilton brought musical theatre back into the mainstream and is one of only three musicals to reach the top 10 in the US Billboard Charts in the last 50 years. The Book Of Mormon and Hair both enjoyed Billboard prestige in 2011 and 1969 respectively. Here’s hoping this mixtape has a similar impact!

Full Track List:

  1. No John Trumbull (Intro) — The Roots
  2. My Shot (feat. Busta Rhymes, Joell Ortiz, and Nate Ruess) [Rise Up Remix] — The Roots
  3. Wrote My Way Out — Nas, Dave East, Lin-Manuel Miranda, and Aloe Blacc
  4. Wait for It — Usher
  5. An Open Letter (feat. Shockwave) [Interlude] — Watsky
  6. Satisfied (feat. Miguel and Queen Latifah) – Sia
  7. Dear Theodosia (feat. Ben Folds) — Regina Spektor
  8. Valley Forge (Demo) — Lin-Manuel Miranda
  9. It’s Quiet Uptown — Kelly Clarkson
  10. That Would Be Enough — Alicia Keys
  11. Immigrants (We Get rhe Job Done) — K’naan, Snow Tha Product, Riz MC, Residente
  12. You’ll Be Back — Jimmy Fallon and The Roots
  13. Helpless (feat. Ja Rule) — Ashanti
  14. Take a Break (Interlude) — !llmind
  15. Say Yes to This — Jill Scott
  16. Congratulations — Dessa
  17. Burn — Andra Day
  18. Stay Alive (Interlude) — J.PERIOD and Stro Elliot
  19. Slavery Battle (Demo) — Lin-Manuel Miranda
  20. Washingtons by Your Side – Wiz Khalifa
  21. History Has Its Eyes on You — John Legend
  22. Who Tells Your Story (feat. Common and Ingrid Michaelson) — The Roots
  23. Dear Theodosia (Reprise) — Chance The Rapper and Francis and The Lights

Preorders for The Hamilton Mixtape are available now on iTunes. The album is expected to be released on the 2 December 2016.

Matt Edwards

Matt is a past owner of AussieTheatre, working as digital director from 2011 to 2019. He is also a performer, most recently appeared in the Australian tour of Mamma Mia! and previously in the Australian/NZ tour of CATS and Enda Markey's acclaimed production of Blood Brothers. As well as performing Matt keeps himself busy in the digital side of the arts working with web design agency Emptyhead Digital

Matt Edwards

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *